top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayleigh Idea

Monthly Review: January 2021 Edition


January 2021 flew by!

Here are some of my highlights for the month: I started my second semester of my sophomore year. Christmas break ended, and it was time to get back to school. I also switched writing projects midway through the month! The writing section will go into more depth about this, but let’s just say my writing goals have been going a bit different than I anticipated. From January 4-11, I participated in a challenge run by the Young Writer’s Workshop called Crazy Writing Week, where we all competed to write the most words! This was my third time participating, and I had a blast! I was on the Water team and we competed against the Fire team. At the end of the week, it was a tie with the Water team ahead on the amount of time spent writing and the Fire team ahead on the amount of words!

Writing

The first half of January went according to my 2021 writing goals as I continued to rewrite my YA Fantasy novel, Lady of Power and Blood. However, I switched projects halfway through the month (as previously mentioned) and focused on outlining a side project. This is not what I was planning, but I really think I needed a break and I plan on continuing to work on this project through February.

For my new project, I’ve been listening to the Mirror Mirror soundtrack.

Reading

In January, I read 9 books!

Three of them were rereads: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, which is a YA fantasy novel with an epic heist, A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast and A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer, the sequel to A Curse So Dark and Lonely.

The next book I read was Creating Character Arcs by K.M. Weiland. I’ve been wanting to read more craft books, and this one did not disappoint! I learned so much about character arcs, and I’m very glad I read it.

Then I read An Enchantment of Ravens, which is a YA Fantasy novel that focuses on the fair folk (fairies) and it was definitely my least favorite of the month book as I only rated it two stars.

For school, I read the Song of Roland by Anonymous and On the Incarnation by Athanasius of Alexandria.

I was also an arc reader for E.C. Colton’s novella, Shards of Sky, which means I got to read the book before it releases in exchange for an honest review! I’m so grateful to the author for giving me the chance to be on her launch team!

Finally, I read the conclusion to the first two books on this list (A Curse So Dark and Lonely and a Heart so Fierce and Broken), A Vow So Bold and Deadly.

That’s it for my January 2021 review! How did your January go? Let me know!

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page