top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayleigh Idea

Monthly Review: December 2020 Edition + 2021 Goals

Updated: Jan 22, 2021



December was the last month of a crazy year. I think it’s fair to say we’re all thankful for the fresh start that 2021 has brought us (and are crossing our fingers that the new year will be better than the old one).


But despite the craziness of 2020, we can still be thankful and reflect on all that God has given us, which is what I want to do today with the month of December. So, here are some of my highlights:

In December, I finished the first semester of my sophomore year of high school! Unfortunately, our plans to travel and see some of our extended family for Christmas didn’t work out, but Christmas break still ended up being a great time for me to get some writing done, and spend time with my family.


I started a three month writing mentorship program with award-winning author, Tessa Emily Hall, called Write Now, which has been super fun and helpful!


I also wrote my first blog post! In case you missed it, you can check it out here: The Two Most Important Tips For Beginning Writers.

 

Writing


In December, I mainly focused on my young adult fantasy novel, Lady of Power and Blood. I re-outlined and rewrote up through chapter twelve and I also got some feedback from my critique partners!


While I wrote, I listened to the Emma (2020) soundtrack and the Evermore album by Taylor Swift.

 

Reading


In December, I read 2 books!


One of them was a reread: The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys and I loved it so much even the second time around!


I also read a short ebook called Write Well that’s all about grammar, which is something I’ve been trying to get better at.


I didn’t read as many books as I would have liked to, considering I was on Christmas break, but that’s okay!


Adding these books to my total for the year, I read 123 books in 2020 out of my goal of 110 books!

 

2021 Goals


Now onto my 2021 goals, which I’ve divided into two categories: my writing goals and my personal goals.


Writing goals:

  • Post writing updates (like this one!) every month and extra blog posts when I have the time

  • Finish editing my short story, The Scarlet Phantom

  • Complete multiple rounds of editing for Lady of Power and Blood

  • Outline and draft a new project


Personal goals:

  • Work out at least 3x a week

  • Practice singing at least 3x a week

  • Read 100 books

  • Read my Bible every day

  • Journal every day


These are all my goals for 2021, and I can’t wait to dive into them!


That’s it for my December 2020 review! How did your December go? Do you have any 2021 goals? Let me know!

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page